A Court of Mist and Fury Revisited

If you didn’t get the chance to read my original post about A Court of Mist and Fury look here. 

So I read this book the day it came out. I didn’t sleep. I barely ate. I just read. And then I wrote my blogpost about it…and then I started reading it again. I read this book twice in two days. After my second reading I realized I had some additional thoughts that I didn’t share last time. Really I think my first post about this book was just a mess because I was so emotional over this book, which I think speaks to how incredible this story was.

Now that I’ve re-read the book and having a more solid grasp on my inner turmoil I felt I would share a few of these remaining thoughts with you.

As someone who has struggled with mental health I applaud Maas. I believe she beautifully captured the struggles of depression and PTSD in ways that may have been overly dramatic, but that were communicable to a young adult audience. Watching Feyre heal and slowly gain back her love of painting was as powerful as the rest of the story for me. Seeing that healing process and seeing that you heal partially because of yourself and partially thanks to your support system was true to life. The way Feyre cracks and crumbles repeatedly is heartbreaking and REAL.

I loved how Maas differentiates love and compatibility. Too often YA stories tell young girls that they will know their truest love immediately and act like marrying the first person you love is the only option. The world doesn’t work like that. You can fall in and out of love numerous times before finding your true mate. Love changes as people grow and what you need may not be what you want. What you needed yesterday may not be what you need today.

That being said a relationship doesn’t have to be static. You can love one person in many different ways and have that change over time. That’s how friendships transform into relationships.

Really, Maas captures life in her storytelling and that is what makes this such a compelling story and what makes each of her characters so amazing. The complexity of relationships, backstories, and personalities is what draws you in and makes the reader fall in love. It’s why I was so enraptured. These characters are my friends. They are players in my life and I want to know where they go and what they do and I want them safe and happy. Annnnddddd now I’m dripping into obsessive town again.

Anyway. I hope you all read this book and love it as much as I do. If you don’t or if I missed something please hit me up in the comments!

Procrastination and Giggles,

The Red Queen

P.S. #DemWings … now who am I talking about..?? hmm?

