A Court of Mist and Fury by Sarah J. Maas

CourtMistFury.jpg

Feyre has survived Amarantha’s tasks, solved her riddle, and freed not only the man she loves but also the rest of the Fey. But, the danger isn’t over. King Hybern still prepares to attack and Feyre is just getting used to her new body.

Feyre and Tamlin return to the Spring Court to prepare for their wedding. But, Feyre is now a woman. What she had to do to defeat Amarantha haunts her every day and she wants to go out and experience this new life and this new body to shake away the darkness. But where Tamlin’s love used to be safe and comforting it has now become strangling. He traps Feyre in their home in order to protect her and because of that Feyre begins to fade.

All the while, her bargain with Rhysand hangs over them both. On what should be the biggest day of her life he comes to cash in.

I cannot begin to find the words to tell you how much I lOVED this book. This was easily one of the best young adult books I’ve read in a long time. I liked it more than An Ember in the Ashes and I think maybe even more than Red Queen (I know..sacrilege). The first third I was full of dark angst. I didn’t know how to feel. The Tamlin that I loved was being such a jerk! I didn’t know what to think. I didn’t know what I wanted anymore!

MindBown.gif

At the end of the first book (see review here) I was really concerned about this potential love triangle. Who was this Rhysand trying to screw up my perfect relationship? Then…this book began and I saw Tamlin with all his flaws, all of his drive, his lack of compromise, and really he develops into an abusive boyfriend. This becomes the kind of relationship that no one should be in. Then Rhysand swoops in to maybe save the day and I fell in love with him. I thought I was Team Tamlin before but every time Rhysand opens his mouth I react like:

GIF-Dancing-Christopher-Eccleston-classic-dance-Doctor-Who-funny-happy-hell-yes-joy-stoked-wild-GIF.gif

The entire book…every time Rhysand talked or shared something new or whatever that was my reaction. Please…I want him to be my boyfriend please. He is the perfect combination of powerful, sexy, kind, sweet, and fair. It doesn’t help that Maas’s ability to write a sexual scene has increased ten fold since the first book. There are some scenes in this novel that are basically erotica. I personally appreciate them and think they actually improve this story. But, if you don’t like that kind of thing there may be some uncomfortable pages in here.

Besides the amazing Rhysand there is an entire cast of amazing characters introduced. Each character is so well written and so different that I cannot select a favorite. We have all of Rhysand’s entourage which introduce so many back stories that I wish we could have a whole compendium of the Fey world and learn the backstories of each character and each individual court.

We get to see several more elements of the Fey realm here including several new courts or even more beasts and they were each beautiful. I loved the development of this world and the complexity of the politics that Maas has described. We get to learn at least something about each of the courts and expand this world beyond just the Spring Court. We even learn more about subcultures of the fey, about their celebrations and histories. Even with the politics, the evil, and the danger, I want to live in this world. I would love to be a high fey in Rhysand’s Court of Dreams.

Learning about the history is a key part of this plot. This modern day battle becomes completely entwined with previous wars and origin stories. To me, it reads like a Greek tale. Stories about Ancient Greece always build with the history like this story does.

And finally, between Rhysand’s confessions and the ending of this story I am crying because of the emotion and because of the full year I have to wait until I get book three. At the very end we even get a few pages from Rhysand’s point of view, which I pray book three has more of. Seeing things from Rhysand’s head made me so very happy. Either way though the end of the book left me like this:

mindblownconan.gif

Overall I give it 5/5.

Main character: 5/5
Side characters: 5/5
Writing: 4.5/5
Plot: 5/5
Pacing: 5/5
World Development: 5+/5

Procrastination and Giggles,
The Red Queen

P.S. I didn’t even get around to saying how funny this book is. I cried twice and snorted three times at least. Not to mention the occasional guffaw. Really an emotional roller coaster this one is. Amren said it best:

“Males are horrible creatures, aren’t they?”

One thought on “A Court of Mist and Fury by Sarah J. Maas

  1. Pingback: A Court of Mist and Fury Revisited | queens of nerdcraft

Comments are closed.