Cress by Marissa Meyer

CressIn this third book of The Lunar Chronicles we add yet another female heroine Cress, who plays the role of Rapunzel. At a young age Cress was trapped in a satellite using her technological skills to benefit the Lunar Kingdom specifically, video spying. But, as Cress has gotten older, she’s become her own woman with her own wants and knowledge of right and wrong. Helping Cinder is right.

Cinder herself has a simplistic plan, save Cress, find the doctor, save the world. Of course these things are never so simple.

I have loved these first few books, but found Cress to be a bit of a disappointment. These added characters may have needed skills but they are beginning to distract from the main storyline. I also think there was a lot of possibilities with Cress that weren’t explored. This character has had a damaging childhood and yet she is relatively normal. This could have been a great opportunity for Meyer to stretch her writing muscles and give us another complex character. I don’t think she quite got there.

My other issue with Cress as a character is that we have now three couples. Why does everyone have to be paired off? This is not realistic nor necessary. I think this need to pair each character off implies that people cannot be complete without a significant other, which is just not true. Give me a strong female character who doesn’t need a man please! In this case I’d even like a male character who doesn’t give in to the first woman available. Even Levana has some dark romantic past apparently!

Really this book seems like a lot of filler. I think Scarlet and Cress could each have been shortened and turned into a single novel. The back and forth and repetition of events (Do they really need to be split up again?) is getting old. It really just feels like a tactic to pop out another book and not an important part of the plot. The only character development that occurs when they are split up is the Cress/Captain relationship, which I am not a fan of to begin with and which could have been done in other ways. Side note: I think I don’t like it just because I picture her as so much younger than him, but I guess that’s not how it’s technically written.

The action scenes continue to be my favorite. I still think Meyer does a good job making them serve a purpose and not be too ridiculous. Cinder’s personal storyline is definitely the best part of not only this book but also this series and I wish we had stayed more dedicated to her throughout. Hopefully the final book will return to her as the focus, but, sadly, I think we will probably just get another unnecessary love story.

I give this book a 3.5 out of 5.

World Development: 4 out of 5
Writing: 3 out of 5
Main Character: 5 out of 5
Side Characters: 4 out of 5
Plot: 3 out of 5
Pacing: 3 out of 5

Procrastination and Giggles,
The Red Queen

P.S. As always… Io remains my favorite character.

“Hey, I’m not judging. I’m familiar with IT-relations. Just wait until you meet our spaceship. She’s a riot.”

