Library of Souls by Ransom Riggs

LibraryofSoulsIn the third and final installment of Miss Peregrine’s peculiar children, Jacob and Emma find themselves lost in London. Their friends have been captured, their ymbrine is still missing and a Hollowgast is hot on their tails. But, they power on to find where Caul is taking the peculiars.

With the help of a ghastly, stubborn man named Sharon, they traverse the worst of the peculiar loops, Devil’s Acre, a place where Peculiars are bought, sold, and addicted.

Ransom Riggs delivers yet again with a very creative and peculiar tale. Even more photos are used in this book and these may be my favorite set of images. We finally get to see the seedy underbelly of peculiardom and learn about the horrors within.

Riggs’s creativity runs wild with new loops, new roles of the ymbrines, new communities and The Library of Souls. However, I did finally have slight disappoint with one of Riggs’s tales.

The Library of Souls is a real place, a real underwhelming place, that possesses the climax of this tale. Riggs has delivered over and over again when it came to this story’s plot points and I had hoped he saved the best for last. I wanted a final shebang of Jacob’s ever expanding powers. I wanted an epic battle set in an even more epic location, but when Riggs finally describes his library the detail isn’t there. The locations in the book all came to life with Riggs’s words except for the key loop and it’s contents.

The book actually ends with an unofficial epilogue that reeks of realism and a professionally wrapped package. I wanted more for these characters. I wanted to be left with the sense that their wild battles and adventures would continue for ages to come. I got Hunger Games where I wanted Harry Potter.

Overall, Library of Souls was only half satisfactory. The storyline didn’t live up to the epic-ness of the world detail. That being said, I would appreciate more books exploring the vast reaches of this universe and especially the role of people with powers like Jacob. Thanks to the recent announcement of Tales of the Peculiar, I may get some of this satisfaction. I really do love the beauty of Riggs’s writing and his ability to weave these photos into a complete narrative, but the novelty could wear off and thus I want more.

With how beautifully written these books are I have to give it a good overall score though. Really this review is me nitpicking a tad and these are still good books. 4/5

World Development: 5/5
Main Character: 4/5
Side Characters: 5/5
Writing: 5/5

Points off on the following for the ending…
Plot: 3/5
Pacing: 3.5/5

Procrastination and Giggles,
The Red Queen

P.S. Shoutout to the Con circuit….

“These strange-looking people weren’t peculiars. They were nerds. We were very much in the present.”

