Once Upon a Time: “Labor of Love”

“It’s not everyday your wife tells you she was friends with a god.”

“A demigod.”

That quote pretty much sums up this episode. This episode is all about Snow White… not Mary Margaret…Snow. And, it is wonderful. I love getting to see young Snow (even if this girl’s acting needs polish). It makes beautiful sense that she was once besties with Herc.

I’m actually really happy about how they introduced Hercules. It’s been a while since we’ve had a good Snow-centered episode. I used to worry that we’d eventually lose the wonderful flashbacks to the Enchanted Forest and I’m happy that hasn’t occurred yet. The fact that Snow learned all her bandit skills from Hercules is super BAMF too. Really, this is a great Snow episode, her and Regina bonding has been a long time coming and I am so happy how they did it with both class and humor. My favorite line from this whole episode was so quick you almost didn’t catch it.

“It’s officially a cold day in Hell when I moved in with the Charmings.” -Regina

While Hercules is attractive and age appropriate for this version of the storyline, he kind of looks like he fell straight out of a boyband and I’m not sure how to feel about that. However, the Classics major in me is really happy that they stayed true to the twelve labors both in what they were and in spirit. The only negative I can really get into about this episode is that the level of fear that girl who is so obviously Megara has for Cerebus does not equal they money put int that CGI. I really thought they’d have given them a bigger budget for that sort of thing by now.

And even though we are adding a new character, this really just feels like an extension of the 100th episode. It’s really the 101st episode…which is very punny seeing as who makes their dramatic re-entrance during this episode. Hint…hint…

“The music…the gin…the glamour…the gin!”

I am a little sad that we don’t have any more answers to our big questions like Why does purgatory look like Storybrook? Where did all the Darkness go when the crew went to purgatory? What the Hell (pun intended) is going on with Rumple?

But I have confidence that this season is going to continue on this epic level and that we will get there. I mean look at this epic bad guy. Hades is so solid. What more could you want from a villain than great outfits and on point dramatic exists?

Procrastination and Giggles,
The Red Queen

P.S. One final question that needs answering…how does Hook manage to look so hot even covered in blood?

